The Radical Therapist

In the 1970’s in America, young trainee psychotherapists caught the mood of the time and declared a radical therapy movement and a journal of that name was produced and distributed locally and then in order to spread the message further afield they managed to persuade a publisher to take on a book with a variety of articles taken from their journals.

I believe the essence of the Radical Therapy movement caught on and spread and has by now become embedded. Basically they perceived the standard, often Freudian methodologies were elitist and could only reach the wealthy. The trainings were long and expensive if one wished to become a psychotherapist. Consequently fees were high and out of reach for ordinary folk. There was a desire to have therapy available for all! and a desire for therapies to be diverse and have relevance to all groups. They wanted many, many more therapists. Many, many more avenues to access and aid troubled minds and bodies. Feminism also in the mix.

I have the book, it came from America, a second hand much read paperback printed in the 70’s. I have dipped into it and found it in parts interesting and in parts heavy going. I shall refer to it again and again. I am glad to have a copy.

I am happy these people felt that way and their influence spread. I became a therapist with just one years training.

That was nearly twenty years ago and each year I do additional trainings to keep myself in the flow. I need to do this to be insured which means I can practice legally. I find myself in a fascinating therapeutic world and have made many valuable connections with other therapists. I am a body worker. Massage is my field, but I can call myself a therapist because of these young students in the 70’s.

Thanks guys (and girls)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

